These are some of the most frequent questions we get so we hope it helps answer any questions you may have. If not, go to the Contact Us page and send us your question or contact us directly by phone or email.
How do I make a reservation?
You can go to the Contact Us page and send us your request or contact us directly by phone or email.
What is your reservation deposit policy?
We require a $150 deposit for all guide trip reservations and 50% for instructional reservations. You can contact us at (248) 495-2615 for Tom and (248) 318-3770 for Scott.
If you have to cancel, we will refund 100% of your deposit if you cancel 30 days or longer from your reservation date. If you cancel within 30 days, we will refund your deposit only if we are able to rebook that date. If not, there is no refund.
What if I don’t have any fly fishing equipment?
We can and will supply all the fly fishing equipment needed, including the flies.
What do I need to bring on the guide trip?
You need a valid Michigan DNR Fishing License. You can purchase your license at the Michigan DNR website or many retail locations throughout the state. You need to have it on your person during the trip. Having a copy on your phone will also work.
Next, you’ll need a hat and glasses or sunglasses, preferably polarized. A hat and glasses will protect you from flies with sharp hooks swinging overhead. That includes while fishing at night. Polarized sunglasses will let you see into the water column. It gets rid of the surface glare. Non-polarized sunglasses are fine also. We just want you to have some kind of protection for your eyes.
Please bring some kind of rain gear. If you don’t, it will surely rain and if you do, there’s a chance it won’t. Finally, you need to bring any personal items like bug repellent, sunscreen, any preferred drinks or snack foods. We will have bottled water on the boat and, if your trip includes a meal, it will likely be a wonderful sandwich from Gates Lodge. Here’s the link to the Gates Take Out Menu. We’ll coordinate that before your trip.
How & when do I pay the balance owed for the trip or instruction?
You need to pay your balance owed before the trip. Keep in mind, for trips starting early morning, you need to pay your balance owed before your trip. Contact either Tom or Scott to arrange payment. You can also pay with PayPal under Au Sable River Guide Service.
Are gratuities accepted?
Gratuities are always acceptable and greatly appreciated. A typical float trip requires a couple of hours of prep time before the trip and a couple of hours after the trip, with a total time, including the float trip, of 10 to 12 hours. We work very hard to make your experience a good one. But, gratuities are still discretionary. Either way, we appreciate you choosing us for your trip.
What if I want to use my own equipment & flies?
You can bring your own equipment and flies. BUT, please check with us as to what equipment & flies will be appropriate for the time of year and the type of fishing you’ll be expecting. As a backup, we will still bring equipment and flies.
What if I don’t want to fly fish but spin-cast instead?
That’s fine but we just need to know in advance since we need to arrange to float waters that allow spin cast fishing. Again, communicate with us first and we can give you an idea of what the regulations are for non-only fly fishing waters. We can’t guarantee that we will have any backup equipment for non-fly fishing.